noobshirt.blogg.se

Amerie 1 thing today
Amerie 1 thing todayamerie 1 thing today

We reached this point where the internet suddenly became such a crowded place, and now it’s so busy that it’s hard for one artist to get all of the ears and all of the eyes. But, also, I suppose that there can be so much going on that it can actually be hard to break through.

amerie 1 thing today

It’s easier for them to be seen and heard. So, I honestly just create, and that’s kind of it.Īs for new acts, now the internet is such a thing, there’s a greater degree of discoverability, so emerging artists can find an audience easier. Every album, it’s a snapshot of where I am, which is why I don’t usually listen to my own old music – once it’s off my chest, I’m onto the next sound. I just really want to make whatever I’m feeling. For me, I don’t want to create ‘for the market’ or anything like that. Well, I really don’t pay too much attention to what is going on in the wonder industry. What do you think has changed in that time, in the industry – both for you as a returning artist, and the challenges that newcomers face in 2014 Clash grabbed 10 with Ameriie to see where her head’s at in the here and now.įive years have passed since you were last on pop radars. Five years of it, between the Trey Songz-featured single ‘Pretty Brown Eyes’ and 2014’s comeback track, ‘What I Want’, a song preceding the release of not one but (at least) two new Ameriie albums: ‘Bili’ and ‘Cymatika’. You can’t not know it – it’s sewn into the fabric of pop, an outstanding example of timeless composition that borrowed from the past to withstand the shifting trends of music’s future.Ī smash hit in 2005, ‘1 Thing’ – from Ameriie’s second album, ‘Touch’, was followed by further success: 2007’s ‘Because I Love It’ album broke the top 20 in the UK and Japan, and 2009’s ‘In Love & War’ collection drew a great deal of critical acclaim, as well as charting well in the US and overseas. Not just one song, forever, but certainly ‘1 Thing’. But whatever you know the singer as today, she’ll always have one song as a comprehensive calling card. She used to be Amerie, but now she’s Ameriie – and underneath that musical moniker, she’s always been Amerie Mi Marie Rogers, born in Masschusetts to an African-American father and Korean mother.

Amerie 1 thing today